by Robin Vincent | Approximate reading time: 1 Minute
Brainworx bx_oberhausen

Brainworx bx_oberhausen  ·  Source: Brainworx


Brainworx and Plug-in Alliance promised us some software synths at NAMM earlier in the year. The first one to emerge is a rather brilliant recreation of the classic Oberheim SEM (although they distinctly refrain from mentioning it by name). Brainworx is known for the quality of their analogue modelling of hardware effects and so bringing their technology to virtual instruments is very welcome.



I hate their naming nomenclature though! Anyway, Brainworx has got into the guts of the Oberheim Synthesizer Expander Module (SEM) pulled out the sound and wrapped it up in some of their own thoughts and ideas. They’ve stuck in a rather nice unison mode, FM, pushed the polyphony up to 32 voices and stuck in a bunch of stomp-box style effects.

Brainworx uses their Tolerance Modeling Technology (TMT) to replicate the variations found in individual components which retain those subtle variations we all love to hear in analogue synths. Each voice of bx_oberhausen then generates a slightly different sound just as the hardware would. They’ve added M/S technology to give you control over which part of the sound goes through the filter section and which doesn’t.

The effects section features a full effects rack populated by versions of some of their best products and the infamous AIR BAND from Máag. An arpeggiator rounds it all off.

Brainworx bx_oberhausen with effects rack

Brainworx bx_oberhausen with effects rack

It comes with a bunch of presets and is fully NKS compatible.

From the video and sound examples it sounds pretty phenomenal. There’s a 14-day free trial available to try it out yourself or you can go straight for the purchase for the introductory price of $179.


More information



By loading the video, you agree to YouTube’s privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

Image Sources:
  • Brainworx bx_oberhausen with effects rack: Brainworx
Brainworx bx_oberhausen

How do you like this post?

Rating: Yours: | ø:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *