by Robin Vincent | Approximate reading time: 1 Minute

Miroslav Philharmonik 2 CE Main page  ·  Source:

Miroslav Philharmonik 2 CE mixer  ·  Source:

Miroslav Philharmonik 2 CE Effects  ·  Source:

Miroslav Philharmonik 2 CE  ·  Source:


The Miroslav Vitous sample library was the original orchestra on a floppy disk used in hardware samplers before all this software nonsense came along. About a decade ago IK Multimedia reworked the library into virtual instrument form with Miroslav Philharmonik. A new reimagining came with version 2 at the end of last year where IK Multimedia and Miroslav combined their expertise to produce a new library of over 2700 instruments and 58GB worth of sample library. This is the CE version or “Classic Edition” which takes 730 instruments in 10GB of library for a smaller, more manageable orchestral workstation.


Along with the instruments you get 30 effects, 3 playback engines, a synthesizer section, tweaking and mixing. The instrument range covers solo and ensemble strings, brass woodwinds, piano, choirs, mallets, percussion and full orchestra. Articulation switching allows you to move from sustained to detache, staccato, legato and pizzicato on the fly.

Miroslav Philharmonik 2 CE uses the same play, mix and edit pages as the full version giving you very detailed control over the sounds. Each instance gives you a 16 part instrument with full internal mixing and effects processing. The synth engine also allows you to take the traditional sounds to a whole different place.


I’ve been a keen user of the original Miroslav Philharmonik virtual instrument ever since it arrived. It has a certain something about it that gives it a feel and a movement that, for me, has not really been matched by the more recent huge sampled orchestras. I’ve yet to try version 2 but for my needs this Classic Edition seems ideal.

Miroslav Philharmonik 2 CE is available now for OSX and Windows for €99 until the 1st June after which it’s $149.

More information:

How do you like this post?

Rating: Yours: | ø:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *